Man United: Lulaku Looks Forward To Playing With Pogba

Pogba Convinced Me To Join Man United – Lukaku

Lukaku has revealed how Pogba convinced him to join Man Utd.

Romelu Lukaku who just signed and joined Manchester United from Everton has said that his conversations with Man United’s Paul Pogba about Manchester United sparked his interest in joining the richest club in the world.

Reports are rife that Lukaku rejected Chelsea, who matched United’s bid, to reunite with United boss, Jose Mourinho, at Old Trafford, not Stamford Bridge. Lukaku also said he did not need to think twice about his decision to move to Old Trafford, in part thanks to his friend, Pogba.

Photos L-R: Paul Pogba and Romelu Lukaku are seen playing Basketball together in Miami amid transfer speculations to Manchester United, before he made up his mind to join Pogba at Old Trafford. Pictures above show Lukaku and Pogba sweating it out on the basketball court | Pics: Mirror.

Lukaku told ESPN:

“I’ve been talking to [Pogba] for about seven or eight years. And now he’s living in Manchester. I live in Manchester. He lives like down the road from where I live, so we’re together on a daily basis.

He was explaining to me how it went at the club, and it triggered something in my head. When the opportunity came, I didn’t have to think twice. I’m really excited. I think they’re all top players, a good group of guys that is hungry to win trophies.

United . Pogba & Lukaku

Paul Pogba & Romelu Likaku

To play in front of those fans, everything is set there to perform. But, you know, I have to work harder than I’m doing now. I know the road is still far, but I’m willing to go on that path and grab the opportunity that I get.”

The 24-year-old ended the 2016-17 campaign with 25 goals from 37 Premier League games as Everton finished seventh, eight points behind Manchester United.

“Who could say no” to United? – Lukaku

Romelu Lukaku has confirmed he will join Manchester United – for a whopping $97 million transfer fee to match.

In an interview with ESPN, Lukaku stated:

“Who would say no to the biggest club in the world? Best stadium in England. The best fans. This is the perfect opportunity. I always said I wanted to play for a team that’s challenging for every trophy that there is.

I think Manchester United, at the minute, wants to be the dominant team, that dominant force. If you look at their history, it says enough. To become part of a club like them is something that I really wanted. I’m thankful for the opportunity that they gave me.”

Pogba & Lukaku 2

Retrospection: United’s Pogba & Everton’s Lukaku | Pointing towards Old Trafford?

Lukaku agreed to the switch, but there were reports of a late Chelsea offer, attempting to woo him back to his former club one last time, but he turned them down. “My mind was already set,” Lukaku said. “I gave my word, and I don’t look back . . . I was already mentally preparing to be part of the team.”

Lukaku has joined Manchester United’s pre-season training in California and will begin officially training with the club on Monday. “Now it’s time to work hard, work harder than I ever did before,” Lukaku said. “I’m willing to do it. Hopefully, it will come a good way.”

Lukaku & Mourinho

Photo: At Stamford Bridge — Jose Mourinho (R) & Romelu Lukaku (L)

I knew Mourinho will try to bring his talented protégé Lukaku to the Theater of Dreams.

Up Man U!

Leave a Reply

