Louis Van Gaal Retires From Professional Football

Former Manchester United manager, the flying Dutchman, Louis van Gaal, has announced his retirement from professional football after more than three decades, citing “family reasons,” a Dutch newspaper reported on Tuesday.

“I don’t believe I’ll return back to work,” Van Gaal told popular daily tabloid De Telegraaf, which added he is “definitely drawing a line under his training career.”

Photos L-R: Old Trafford days — Louis Van Gaal (R) & Assistant Manager Ryan Giggs | Van Gaal (R) & Giggs

The man nicknamed the “Iron Tulip” has received dozens of lucrative offers since his un-ceremonial axing from Manchester United last year, including a three-year contract in the East, most likely China, which would pay an estimated 50 million euros ($53.4 million) over three years, the paper said.

“I could have taken the contract,” Van Gaal told the paper. “But I’m still here. So much has happened within my family and it has become time to face facts.”

Flamboyant and outspoken, Van Gaal, 65, found himself in the midst of a family drama after the husband of one of his daughters unexpectedly passed away, De Telegraaf said.

Despite winning the FA Cup last year — United’s first major silverware since the retirement of legendary boss Sir Alex Ferguson — Van Gaal was given the boot in May.

He said then he was contemplating taking another manager’s job.

“I said I would stop, but then cleverly called it a ‘sabbatical’. But now I don’t believe I’ll return to work,” Van Gaal told De Telegraaf on receiving a lifetime achievement award in The Hague on Monday.

Actually I wanted to stop after the (FIFA) World Cup,” in Brazil in 2014, where Van Gaal’s Dutch side ended third behind Argentina and Germany.

Then suddenly England called. It was a beautiful country I did not yet have on my cv”

Winning the FA Cup with the Red Devils “was the greatest achievement of my career,” he added.

Asked whether he has realised all his dreams, the man often known for his blunt answers during press conferences said: “I have achieved everything during my lifetime.”

“I don’t want to brag about all the countries where I’ve worked, and the level of clubs I’ve coached, but for me there’s really nothing else left (to do),” Van Gaal said.

TheGuardian Nig

van-gaal-afp-photo-oli-scarff

Photo: Manchester United’s Dutch manager Louis van Gaal waving as he walks out onto the pitch for the English Premier League football match between Manchester United and Chelsea at Old Trafford in Manchester, north west England. Firebrand manager Louis van Gaal has announced his retirement from professional football after more than three decades, citing “family reasons,” a Dutch newspaper reported on January 17, 2017. / AFP PHOTO / OLI SCARFF.

Photos L-R: Louis Van Gaal during two of his press conferences before a football match at Old Trafford.

Van Gaal, Ex-Man Utd And Netherlands Manager, Quits Football

Leadership (NAN) Ex-Manchester United and Netherlands manager Louis van Gaal says he has retired from coaching after a 26-year career.

The 65-year-old van Gaal has been out of work since being sacked by United hours after winning the FA Cup in May 2016.

“I thought maybe I would stop, then I thought it would be a sabbatical, but now I do not think I will return to coaching,” Van Gaal was quoted as saying by a Dutch newspaper.

Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that van Gaal also had spells in charge of Ajax, FC Barcelona, Bayern Munich and AZ.

He made the announcement on Monday after receiving a lifetime achievement award from the Dutch government for his contribution to football.

The Dutchman Louis Van Gaal was replaced by the Portuguese man, Jose Mourinho, who I’m still trying to get used to at Old Trafford — Nnamdi Ebo.

Manchester United v Sheffield United - FA Cup Third Round
Manchester United v Sheffield United – FA Cup Third Round – Old Trafford – 09/01/2016 Manchester United manager Louis Van Gaal before the game | Reuters/Phil Noble Live pic.

POSSESSION FOOTBALL

Louis Van Gaal introduced possession football to Old Trafford

I missed Van Gaal when he was ignominiously sacked by the Manchester United board. I had wished the Dutchman had stayed back at Old Trafford to complete the installation of his would’ve been maverick brand and style of football in the English Premier League and England — possession football! This style of playing football creates a dominating posture and domineering effect which intimidates opponents in the field of play.

Van Gaal introduced ball possession football to Old Trafford and I was thrilled at the time. This style of football, which was predicated on the future of the beautiful game of football, has seen Spanish giants, Barcelona, continuously employ ball possession to its full advantage, and have continued using this modern style of footballing to dominate European football.

Van Gaal! I’ll always miss the flying Dutchman. To my favorite football manager of all time, Adieu!

Up Man U!

Leave a Reply

