Jose Mourinho vows to take Manchester United back to the top

Jose Mourinho vowed to take the “giant club” Manchester United back to the top after agreeing a three-year deal. This was confirmed on Friday by Manchester United.

#WELCOMEJOSE REACTION

There were reactions from United fans, as well as club legends like Rio Ferdinand, Phil Neville, Paddy Crerand and Lou Macari.

MOURINHO’S ROAD TO UNITED
It has been quite a journey for Mourinho, having started his football career as an ambitious interpreter for Sir Bobby Robson at Sporting Lisbon before ascending the ranks to become a bona fide managerial legend.

MOURINHO’S FIRST MATCHES
Mourinho’s first match in charge of United will be against Borussia Dortmund in Shanghai on 22 July. Then, he will reignite his old rivalry with Pep Guardiola when the Reds face Manchester City in Beijing on 25 July.

JOSE HAS SOMETHING TO PROVE
Andy Cole: “He has something to prove as an individual and he will try to get Manchester United, one of the biggest powerhouses in football, back on the right track. Hopefully it will be a marriage made in heaven and we can start competing again.”

WHEN FORTUNE MET MOURINHO
Quinton Fortune: “I played against his Chelsea team and they were very difficult to break down. I was also fortunate to meet him a few years ago when we played the Real Madrid legends and he came into the changing room. He spent 15 minutes with us and you could see his nature, it was very nice of him. He is possibly the best manager in the world and I’m excited.”

MANCHESTER UNITED & JOSE MOURINHO SERVICE AGREEMENT

Jose Mourinho joined instagram on the day he was officially confirmed Manchester United manager.

Soon after his switch to replace Louis van Gaal was confirmed, Jose Mourinho went online to upload the first page of his Manchester United contract. Predictably, he’s proven pretty popular too, amassing over 30,000 followers within minutes of joining the social networking site.

See the Instagram photo of United & Mourinho Service Agreement. Click below

https://www.instagram.com/p/BF53jAGowXZ/embed/captioned/?v=7

MOURINHO WILL RESPECT UNITED’S HISTORY
Jesper Blomqvist told MUTV: “I think Mourinho is a very smart manager. He will see how United as a club has worked throughout history and he will take that into account, when thinking about his new goals, how he wants United to play and everything else.”

YORKIE’S SEAL OF APPROVAL
Dwight Yorke on Sky Sports News: “We want to be the number one club in the Premier League and he knows he has a challenge in terms of the players he has inherited from the van Gaal regime. But a manager of his status will certainly get the best out of the players. There is no doubt in my mind that Mourinho will bring a winning mentality to the football club.”

PHIL NEVILLE: THE PERFECT FIT
Speaking ahead of Soccer Aid, Phil Neville told us: “When I saw the photo of Jose holding up the Man United shirt, dressed in his black suit, black tie and crisp white shirt, I thought he just looked like a Man United manager. He looked like the perfect fit. I think every United fan has got to be excited about the coming season.”

WILKINS: A TROPHY IN TWO YEARS
Ray Wilkins: “I am delighted for both him and Manchester United because you have a got a proper winner. Wherever he has been, he has been absolutely magnificent and he has won. That is the important thing and United needs to get back where it belongs – that is the top of the Premier League. I believe he will win a major trophy within the next two years.”

Jose Mourinho . New United Manager

MACARI: RIGHT PLACE, RIGHT TIME
Lou Macari on MUTV: “His idea about football is simple – he wants to win games and he will want Manchester United to be at the top of everything. In Europe, he has got to get us back into the Champions League and he has to build a side that can do well in the Champions League. There is a lot of hard work ahead, but I do think he is in the right place at the right time.”

MOURINHO TALKS TO MUTV
“I feel great. I think it comes in the right moment of my career because Man United is one of these clubs where you need really to be prepared for it because it is what I call a giant club. And giant clubs must be for the best managers and I think I am ready for it, so I could say I am happy, I am proud, I am honoured.”

PADDY SUSPECTED JOSE’S INTEREST
“When we interviewed Jose in 2013, when he was the manager of Real Madrid, I thought he was desperate for the job back then. He loved it here and he lit up. When they beat us, he walked away sheepishly as he was fortunate to win the game. But I always got the impression that he wanted to come to Old Trafford.”

CONGRATS FROM RIO
Rio Ferdinand: “This is Jose Mourinho’s most exciting & most challenging job yet. The first thing he needs to do is install a ‘winning mentality’ back into the club. Get this ingredient back into the players but also the people that work inside the club day to day. Give them back that belief so it is breathing throughout the club again, which is so important.”

JOSE CREATES STRONG RELATIONSHIPS
Former Chelsea manager Carlo Ancelotti has been talking to the BBC about Mourinho and his man-management skills. “The success that Mourinho has had in his career is because he has built a strict relationship with his players,” the Italian said. “I remember there were players at Inter who cried when Mourinho left. That means that the relationship was really strong.”

“A MASSIVE NAME IN FOOTBALL”
Andy Ritchie welcomed Mourinho’s appointment: “I am sure he will bring a new zest and a new image to the club. He wanted the job and he wants to take us forward. He is here and he is a massive, massive name in football and a massive character.”

LIVE REACTION ON MUTV
Speaking on MUTV following the announcement, fomer United striker Andy Ritchie said: “It is official now and it’s absolutely brilliant news. I think Jose has coveted the job for quite some time and it looks like he is ready and eager to get back into the rigmarole again.”

Jose Mourinho . United welcome Jose

MORE FROM MOURINHO
More from the new manager: “I have always felt an affinity with Old Trafford; it has hosted some important memories for me in my career and I have always enjoyed a rapport with the United fans. I’m looking forward to being their manager and enjoying their magnificent support in the coming years.”

REACTION FROM MOURINHO
Mourinho said: “To become Manchester United manager is a special honour in the game. It is a club known and admired throughout the world. There is a mystique and a romance about it which no other club can match.”

WOODWARD’S STATEMENT
Ed Woodward said: “José is quite simply the best manager in the game today. He has won trophies and inspired players in countries across Europe and, of course, he knows the Premier League very well, having won three titles here. I’d like to take this opportunity to welcome him to Manchester United. His track record of success is ideal to take the Club forward.”

_______________________________

To be honest, I think I’ve just caught the Mourinho bug! Don’t ask me how but the encomiums that have been poured on the Portuguese football managerial living legend is overwhelming – to say the least.

I am lost for words to describe my new found love for Jose Mourinho – one love that never existed but there is no love lost between me and Jose Mourinho since the British Press went after Louis Van Gaal.

I hope they won’t go after Jose the most vicious way they went after Louis the Dutchman. I am beginning to like Jose Mourinho – you better believe it.

I have to live with Jose Mourinho as the manager of my most cherished club. I have no choice. Well Jose, here I come . . .

Up Man U!

Leave a Reply

