Ander Herrera thought he had scored Chelsea

Manchester United attacking midfielder Ander Herrera thought he had scored – only to gape as Chelsea’s tall-framed stopper pulled a fast one on him during the second half of a Man United-Chelsea 0-0 encounter at Old Trafford on Monday Dec 28, 2015.

Herrera thought he had converted Anthony Martial’s cross in front of the Chelsea goal mouth, but it was not meant to be for Herrera as Courtois denied him in a most miraculous way nobody could have fathomed.

Herrera spoke to MUTV after the match :

Herrera

“I think I put my foot correctly.

I was in the right position. The cross of Anthony, I think, was very good, so I didn’t know if [Cesar] Azpilicueta touched the ball.

I don’t know what happened, to be honest. I was going to celebrate it and then saw the ball was not in.

We showed we were the better team but it was not enough. We cannot be happy but we can be proud of what we did today.

We have to be realistic, we have to win games but this is the way we have to play, I think.

You can see Chelsea are a threat despite their situation. They are very, very tough and have fantastic players. I think we were the better team.

We played with a lot of energy and passion, the way we have to play, but I cannot say too much, just talk on the pitch and make our fans proud”

– Ander Herrera, Manchester United Attacking Midfielder

‘I was ready to celebrate’ – Ander Herrera

Up Man U!

Leave a Reply

