I don’t want to finish my career with the sack – Van Gaal

Louis van Gaal fears he’ll be axed like Jose Mourinho was by Chelsea, as Manchester United manager admits: ‘I don’t want to finish my career with the sack’

The 2-0 loss at Stoke on Saturday saw United drop to sixth in the Premier League and left Van Gaal’s side winless in seven matches in all competitions – the team’s worst run in 26 years.

”I do my utmost best to find solutions to cope with the pressure,” Van Gaal said. ”But in the end my players have to do that by themselves.”

It was a hapless first-half performance and Van Gaal questioned why his players ”don’t dare to play football.”

Memphis Depay’s diving backward header allowed Bojan Krkic to put Stoke in front and Marko Arnautovic powered in a second goal from outside the penalty area.

Wayne Rooney was forced to start a league game on the bench for the first time in two years and United only provided a greater threat with its captain on the field in the second half. But a combination of poor finishing and Jack Butland’s saves prevented United from leaving Stoke with anything.

Van Gaal’s comments and demeanor suggest his stay at Old Trafford is reaching an endgame after barely 18 months in charge.

”I can also quit by myself,” Van Gaal said when asked about receiving assurances about his job security, before adding: ”It is not always … the club has to fire or sack me.”

Asked if he would be in charge at Old Trafford on Monday when United plays Chelsea, Van Gaal said: ”You will have to wait and see. But I think so.”

Is Van Gaal waving goodbye after the Stoke 2-0 defeat?

Watch the video below to decide:

Up Man U!

Leave a Reply

