Enjoy the wine, mince pies and goodbye – Van Gaal

Van Gaal . Man u boss

The embattled Dutchman in charge of England’s biggest club, Manchester United, Louis Van Gaal, hits back at the British football press on his own turf at Carrington. Read and watch it . . .

Van Gaal walked out of his pre-match news conference after five minutes on Wednesday after calling on the assembled media to apologize for not treating him well.

In addition to rumors which had been rife that the flying Dutchman was about to be sacked and replaced by Jose Mourinho, who was dismissed by Chelsea last Thursday the stage was set for a showdown.

After taking training at United’s Carrington training complex, ahead of Saturday’s trip to Stoke City, a visibly angry Van Gaal went on the attack after some earlier media-insinuated publications and insinuations of his imminent sack, questions on Arsenal’s Arsene Wenger’s “disrespectful” statement in support of him and questions by the assembled media.

The Dutchman retorted angrily:

“Has anyone in this room not got a feeling to apologize to me? Nobody has that feeling? That’s what I’m wondering?

I think I was already reading I had been sacked.

Do you think that I want to talk with the media now?” the 64-year-old said, glaring at the assembled throng.

I’m here only because of the Premier League rule. I have to talk to you, but I can see that I only have to say something and you use my words in your context.

I want to say only that I have tried to lift the confidence of my players I have done everything this week. I held meetings, evaluation meetings with my players and members of staff.

I held the Christmas lunch, I made a speech and I felt the warmth and the support of everybody at Carrington, at this training complex but I didn’t feel that in the media.

Of course I can imagine you can write about that subject. We are not in a good position but four weeks ago we were first in the Premier League, and in about four weeks we can be again back in that position.

Creating something that is not good. And now I have to answer questions? I don’t think I want to do it.

I only say now that I’m focussed on Stoke City, I help my players, I wish you a Merry Christmas and maybe a Happy New Year when I see you, enjoy the wine and maybe a mince pie, goodbye”

– Louis Van Gaal, Manchester United Manager

The flying Dutchman then got up and stormed out.

Up Man U!

Leave a Reply

